Best budget power rack, short answer: the CAP Barbell Full Cage Power Rack is the best power rack for most budget home gyms, because it is a true four-post cage in 12- and 14-gauge steel with a pull-up bar, safety catches, a 44 x 48 inch footprint and a choice of 6 or 7 foot heights. The VEVOR Power Cage puts the most in the box (dip bars, safety bars and plate holders), and the Bells of Steel Residential Power Rack has the sturdiest frame and a lifetime frame warranty if you catch it on sale.
CAP Barbell Full Cage Power Rack (Color Series): full cage, safety catches and pull-up bar, 600 lb recommended max, 6 or 7 foot tall. Check price at Amazon
Want dip bars and plate storage in one box? The VEVOR Power Cage. Want the strongest frame and can wait for a sale? The Bells of Steel Residential.
Quick answers
What is the best power rack under $300?
The CAP Barbell Full Cage Power Rack for most people: a full cage with safeties and a pull-up bar from a long-running home gym brand, in a 6 foot version for low basements and a 7 foot version for taller rooms. The VEVOR Power Cage is the pick if you want the most accessories included.
Can a budget power rack be safe?
Yes, if it has safety bars or catches inside the cage, you set them just below your lowest bar position, and you stay inside the maker’s weight rating. Budget racks use thinner steel and lower ratings than premium cages, so they suit beginner and intermediate loads best.
Our 3 quick picks
Compared and ranked from published specs and current listings. Prices change, so check today’s price before you buy.
Black Friday home gym deals: see our tracker
A power rack is the one piece of gear that lets you squat, bench and press heavy on your own, because the safeties catch the bar when a rep goes wrong. At the budget end of the market the differences between racks are real: steel thickness, how much weight the maker will stand behind, how tall the frame is against your ceiling, and whether the safeties and pull-up bar come in the box or cost extra. We compared five budget power racks on exactly those points, using each maker’s own product page, and ranked them for a typical garage or basement gym. If you can stretch your budget a little, our guide to the best power racks for a bigger budget covers the next tier up.
Best power racks under $300 compared
The table lists what each maker states on its own product page: weight capacity, steel thickness, upright size, height, footprint, what comes in the box and the warranty. “Not stated” means the number was not on the page we read, so we did not guess. Heights and footprints are the assembled frame; leave extra room on each side for a 7 foot barbell. To check whether a rack clears your room, use our power rack ceiling height calculator.
| Power rack | Best for | Capacity | Steel | Height | Footprint | Pull-up bar | Safeties | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CAP Barbell Full Cage Power Rack (Color Series) Check price | Best overall | 600 lb recommended max | 12 and 14 gauge | 6 ft or 7 ft | 44 W x 48 D in | Yes | Safety catches + bar catches | 30 days (CAP limited) |
| VEVOR Power Cage (PK1921) Check price | Most included | 1,820 lb (listing) | 2 x 2 in frame, 1.5 mm wall | 83.46 in | 59.06 x 47.24 in | Yes, wide bar | 2 safety bars + dip stands | Not stated |
| Bells of Steel Residential Power Rack See maker | Best build | 700 lb | 2.3 x 2.3 in, 14 gauge | 72 or 84.5 in | 64 W x 55 D in | Yes, bare steel | Pin pipe safeties | Lifetime (welds and frame) |
| Powerline by Body-Solid PPR200X See maker | Best warranty | Not stated | 2 x 2 in, 14 gauge | 82 in | 45 L x 47 W in | Yes, 41 in knurled | Saber-style safety rods | 10 years (Powerline) |
| CAP Barbell Deluxe Power Rack Check price | Cheapest cage | 600 lb incl. user (manual); 300 lb on catches | 12 and 14 gauge | 85 in | 45.6 W x 61.4 D in | Yes, overhead bar | Bar catches | 30 days (CAP limited) |
Two numbers in that table need context. VEVOR’s 1,820 lb figure is the rating shown on its listing; it sits on 2 x 2 inch tubing with a 1.5 mm wall, which is thinner than the roughly 1.9 mm of 14-gauge steel, so we treat it as a static listing number rather than a reason to load the rack heavier than a 14-gauge cage. CAP’s Deluxe rack has a 600 lb maximum including the user in its manual, but CAP rates the bar catches at 300 lb, and the catches are the part that holds your bar.
1. CAP Barbell Full Cage Power Rack: best power rack under $300 overall
Key specs: 12- and 14-gauge steel tubing, gusseted uprights, 44 in wide x 48 in deep, 6 ft or 7 ft tall versions, pull-up bar, safety catches and bar catches, powder coat, zinc hardware, 600 lb recommended max weight capacity.
The CAP Full Cage ranks first because it is the most complete true cage at this budget without leaning on optimistic marketing numbers. CAP builds it from 12- and 14-gauge steel tubing with gusseted uprights, and it ships with what a beginner actually needs to train alone: a pull-up bar, safety catches inside the cage and bar catches to rack the barbell. The 44 x 48 inch base is one of the smallest in this comparison, so it fits a one-car garage bay or a spare room corner with space left for a bench and plates.
The height choice is the reason it suits so many homes. The 6 foot version slides under a typical 7 foot basement ceiling with room for the bar on your back, and the 7 foot version gives taller lifters more room for pull-ups and overhead work in an 8 foot room. CAP’s recommended maximum is 600 lb, which covers most lifters for years of squats and bench. Two things to know: CAP does not state the hole spacing on the product page, and its limited warranty covers defects for 30 days, so inspect every part when it arrives.
Best for: beginners and intermediate lifters who want a full cage with safeties for the least money and the smallest footprint. Skip if: you already squat or bench near the 600 lb rating with plates, or you want a long frame warranty.
Spec source: CAP Full Cage Power Rack product page, read October 2026.
2. VEVOR Power Cage: most included in the box
Key specs: 2 x 2 in carbon steel main frame, 1.5 mm wall, 1,820 lb listed capacity, 26 height levels, 59.06 x 47.24 x 83.46 in, 100.53 lb, wide pull-up bar, dip stands, two J-hooks, two safety bars, four plate holders, barbell storage hook.
The VEVOR Power Cage is the pick if you want the whole station in one order. VEVOR includes a wide pull-up bar, dip stands, two J-hooks, two safety bars, four plate storage holders with 2 inch sleeves and clamps, and a hook to store the barbell. That is a lot of hardware that other budget racks sell as add-ons, and the 26 height levels give you plenty of J-hook and safety positions for squats, bench and rack pulls. VEVOR says the frame covers 19.4 square feet, and at 83.46 inches tall it fits under a 7 foot ceiling with a little room to spare.
We rank it second, not first, because of the steel. The main frame is 2 x 2 inch tubing with a 1.5 mm wall, lighter than the 14-gauge racks here, and the 1,820 lb rating on the listing is far above what we would plan to load on that tubing. Treat it as a capable rack for beginner and intermediate weights with a lot of extras, not a heavy-duty cage. The product page we read did not state a warranty term (it offers paid protection plans), so keep your order paperwork.
Best for: new lifters who want dips, pull-ups, safeties and plate storage without buying attachments. Skip if: you plan to lift heavy for years or want fine hole spacing for bench.
Spec source: VEVOR Power Cage product page, read October 2026.
3. Bells of Steel Residential Power Rack: best build quality
Key specs: 2.3 x 2.3 in (60 mm) 14-gauge uprights, 5/8 in holes, 700 lb capacity, 72 or 84.5 in tall, 64 in wide x 55 in deep, pin pipe safeties, bare steel pull-up bar, triple-padded J-cups, concrete anchors included, lifetime warranty on structural welds and frame.
The Bells of Steel Residential is the strongest frame in this comparison and the clearest step up in steel from a typical budget cage. Its 2.3 x 2.3 inch, 14-gauge uprights are bigger than the 2 x 2 inch tubing on most budget racks, it carries a 700 lb rating, and Bells of Steel backs the structural welds and frame with a lifetime warranty. The J-cups have UHMW plastic on the bottom, back and front to protect your bar, and the pin pipe safeties are solid steel with a steel pipe sleeve; their ends double as a second pair of J-cups.
The flat-foot base is designed to work without bolting down, which helps renters, and Bells of Steel includes concrete anchors if you want to stop any shake. The catch is budget: on the maker’s US site it usually lists above this price band, and the 72 inch Short version was the only height shown (and sold out) when we read the page in October 2026. Treat it as the rack to buy on a sale or if you can stretch a little, because the steel and warranty are a real step up. At 64 inches wide it also needs more floor than the CAP cage.
Best for: lifters who want a rack they will not outgrow and a lifetime frame warranty. Skip if: your budget is firm or your space is under about 6 feet wide.
Spec source: Bells of Steel Residential Power Rack product page, read October 2026.
4. Powerline by Body-Solid PPR200X: best warranty
Key specs: 2 x 2 in 14-gauge steel frame, 45 in L x 47 in W x 82 in H assembled, 133 lb, 18 adjustment levels, uprights 24 in apart, 41 in knurled chinning bar, 2 heat-tempered lift-offs, 2 saber-style safety rods, 10 year Powerline warranty.
Body-Solid has been making gym equipment for decades, and its Powerline PPR200X is the budget cage with the longest stated warranty after the Bells of Steel: 10 years under the Powerline warranty. The frame is 2 x 2 inch, 14-gauge steel, it comes with two heat-tempered lift-offs and two saber-style safety rods, and the 41 inch knurled chinning bar gives a proper grip for pull-ups. The uprights sit a full 24 inches apart, so you have room to move inside the cage for squats, presses and shrugs.
At 82 inches tall it is one of the easier cages to fit under a 7 foot ceiling, and the 45 x 47 inch footprint is compact. Body-Solid does not state a weight capacity on the product page we read, which is why the table says “Not stated”. It usually lists above this budget at full price but has been marked down on Body-Solid’s own store, so check the current price; an optional dip attachment (DR100) is sold separately.
Best for: buyers who care most about a long warranty and a compact, low frame. Skip if: you want a published weight rating or dip bars in the box.
Spec source: Body-Solid PPR200X product page, read October 2026.
5. CAP Barbell Deluxe Power Rack: cheapest full cage
Key specs: 12- and 14-gauge steel, 3-step powder coat, bar catches rated 300 lb, upper workout bar rated 300 lb user, 600 lb max including user (manual), 45.6 in W x 61.4 in D x 85 in H, 103.5 lb.
The CAP Deluxe is the lowest-cost way into a four-post cage from a known brand. It uses the same 12- and 14-gauge steel recipe as the Full Cage, with bar catches for squats and an overhead workout bar you can use for pull-ups, rings or band anchors. CAP’s manual lists the assembled size as 45.6 inches wide, 61.4 inches deep and 85 inches tall, so it is deeper than the Full Cage but still fits most garages.
The limit is the rating: CAP rates the bar catches at 300 lb, which is fine for a beginner learning the squat and bench but low once you progress. CAP’s limited warranty is 30 days on defects. Buy it if the budget is the hard limit and you want a cage now, and plan to upgrade when your lifts pass that rating.
Best for: beginners on the tightest budget. Skip if: you already lift or expect to lift past 300 lb on the bar.
Spec source: CAP Deluxe Power Rack product page and manual, read October 2026.
Which budget power rack should you buy?
- You have a 7 foot basement ceiling: the CAP Full Cage in its 6 foot version, or the Body-Solid PPR200X at 82 inches. Leave room above for the bar on your back during squats.
- You want everything in one box: the VEVOR Power Cage, with dip stands, safety bars, plate holders and a barbell hook included.
- You want a rack for the next decade: the Bells of Steel Residential, for its 2.3 inch, 14-gauge uprights, 700 lb rating and lifetime frame warranty. Watch for a sale.
- You care most about warranty: Bells of Steel (lifetime frame) first, then Body-Solid (10 years). CAP covers defects for 30 days.
- Your budget is the hard limit: the CAP Deluxe, as long as your lifts stay under its 300 lb bar catch rating.
- You train in a small room: the CAP Full Cage (44 x 48 inches) or the Body-Solid (45 x 47 inches) have the smallest bases here.
Buying checklist: measure these before you order
- Ceiling height. Measure from the floor (plus any mats) to the lowest point, such as a beam or light. A rack needs a few inches of clearance to assemble, and pull-ups need your head and arms to clear the ceiling. Our ceiling height calculator does the math.
- Footprint. Mark the rack’s base on the floor with tape, then add about 2 feet on each side for a 7 foot barbell and plates, and room in front for a bench.
- Weight capacity. Look for the rating on the safeties or catches, not only the frame. Pick a rack rated well above the most you will put on the bar in the next few years.
- Steel and upright size. 14-gauge or thicker steel and 2.3 inch or larger uprights feel steadier when you rack heavy weight. Thin-wall tubing is lighter and cheaper but can flex.
- Hole spacing and size. Closer spacing lets you set the J-hooks and safeties at the right height for bench press. Hole size decides which attachments fit (Bells of Steel uses 5/8 inch holes, for example).
- Safeties. Make sure safety bars, pin pipes or catches come in the box and reach across the inside of the cage. Set them just below the bottom of your squat and your chest on bench.
- Pull-up bar height. A 6 foot rack is too short for a full dead hang for most adults. If pull-ups matter, choose a 7 foot rack or a separate bar.
- Bolting down. Check whether the maker says the rack can stand free or must be anchored, and whether your floor allows it.
- Warranty. Budget racks range from 30 days to lifetime on the frame. Read it before you buy.
Power rack vs squat rack on a budget
A squat stand or half rack takes less money and floor space, but a full power rack is the safer buy if you train alone, because you lift inside four posts with safeties on both sides. If your ceiling or floor rules out a cage, look at our best squat stands and best half racks guides, and read power rack vs squat rack for the full tradeoff. Building the whole room from scratch? Our budget home gym build shows how a rack fits beside a bar, plates and a bench.
Setting up a budget power rack safely
Assemble on the floor where the rack will live, with two people for the uprights. Tighten every bolt, then go round again after the first week of training, because budget racks often settle. Set the J-hooks so the bar sits around mid-chest for squats, and set the safeties just below your lowest bar position for each lift. If the maker includes anchors and your floor allows it, bolting down stops the frame from walking during pull-ups. Stay inside the lowest rating on the rack, which on most budget cages is the catch or safety rating, not the frame.
More rack guides on Strong Saga
- Best power racks for a bigger budget: eight cages ranked for home gyms.
- Power rack vs squat rack: which type fits your room and training.
- Best half racks: nine half racks ranked on capacity and footprint.
- Best squat stands for a home gym: stands with ceiling and footprint checks.
- Budget home gym build: a full starter setup around a rack.
How we ranked these power racks
We compared and ranked budget power racks using each maker’s published specifications, read on the makers’ own product pages, manuals and warranty pages in October 2026. We weighted weight capacity (especially the safeties and catches), steel thickness and upright size, whether safeties and a pull-up bar come in the box, height against common 7 and 8 foot ceilings, footprint, and warranty, because those decide whether a budget rack is safe and fits a real home. We did not use these products ourselves. Where a product page does not give a number, the table says so instead of guessing.
Find gear that fits your space and budget with our free gear finder.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best power rack under $300?
The CAP Barbell Full Cage Power Rack is the best pick for most budget home gyms: a full cage in 12- and 14-gauge steel with a pull-up bar, safety catches, a 44 x 48 inch footprint and 6 or 7 foot height options, with a 600 lb recommended max. The VEVOR Power Cage includes the most accessories, and the Bells of Steel Residential has the strongest frame if you find it on sale.
Are cheap power racks safe?
A budget power rack is safe when you use its safety bars or catches, set them just below your lowest bar position, assemble it fully and stay under the maker’s lowest rating, which is usually the catch or safety rating. Cheaper racks use thinner steel, so they suit beginner and intermediate loads better than very heavy lifting.
How much weight can a budget power rack hold?
It depends on the model. In this comparison CAP recommends a 600 lb max for its Full Cage, Bells of Steel rates the Residential at 700 lb, CAP rates the Deluxe rack’s bar catches at 300 lb, and VEVOR’s listing shows 1,820 lb on lighter 2 x 2 inch tubing. Body-Solid does not state a capacity for the PPR200X on its product page.
What size power rack fits an 8 foot ceiling?
Most 7 foot racks, around 83 to 85 inches tall, fit under an 8 foot (96 inch) ceiling with room to assemble. For pull-ups you also need clearance for your head above the bar. In a 7 foot basement, choose a 6 foot rack such as the CAP Full Cage 6 foot version or a 72 inch Bells of Steel Residential.
Do you need to bolt down a power rack?
Not always. Bells of Steel says the Residential rack is designed to work without bolting down and includes concrete anchors if you want extra stability. Lighter budget racks can walk or rock during pull-ups or when racking the bar, so follow the manual and bolt down when the maker recommends it.
What gauge steel is best for a power rack?
Lower gauge means thicker steel. 11-gauge is common on premium racks, while 14-gauge is a solid standard for home use and is used by the Bells of Steel Residential and Body-Solid PPR200X here. CAP mixes 12- and 14-gauge tubing. Thin-wall tubing such as a 1.5 mm wall is lighter and flexes more.
Is a power rack better than a squat rack for a home gym?
For lifting alone, yes. A power rack surrounds you with four posts and safeties on both sides, so a failed squat or bench rep lands on the safeties. A squat stand or half rack saves space and money but relies on spotter arms in front of you.
Can you do pull-ups on a 6 foot power rack?
Only with bent knees for most adults, because a 6 foot (72 inch) bar sits too low for a full dead hang. If pull-ups matter, pick a 7 foot rack, the 82 inch Body-Solid, or add a separate wall or doorway pull-up bar.
Bottom line
Buy the CAP Barbell Full Cage Power Rack if you want a safe full cage with a pull-up bar and catches for the least money and floor space, in a height that matches your ceiling. Choose the VEVOR Power Cage if you want dip bars, safeties and plate storage all in the box, the Bells of Steel Residential if you can catch it on sale and want the strongest frame and a lifetime warranty, the Body-Solid PPR200X for its 10 year warranty, and the CAP Deluxe only if the budget is the hard limit. Whichever you pick, measure your ceiling, tape out the footprint and set the safeties before your first heavy set.
Not medical advice. Talk to a qualified professional before starting a new training program.
Follow Strong Saga
New home gym guides, compared and ranked. Short video versions of every guide are on our channels.




5 Home Gym Buys Ranked